Parliament AIIndependent · non-official
All major projects

Major project · Québec

Nouveau Monde Graphite’s Matawinie Mine

Also called Matawinie Mine, NMG, Matawinie Mine project

Proponent: Nouveau Monde Graphite.

Major Projects Office page
Rendering: Major Projects Office

Rendering: Major Projects Office

Why it is listed

Federal funding. Federal funding stated: loan

On March 17, 2026, the Canada Infrastructure Bank and Export Development Canada executed an agreement with Nouveau Monde Graphite for a $459 million loan to support the next phase of the Matawinie Mine.Source, read Oct. 3, 2026
ProponentNouveau Monde Graphite is developing an open-pit graphite mine that will be integrated with a planned Battery Material Plant.Source, read Oct. 3, 2026

Status

The MPO is currently monitoring the project’s progress and providing oversight to ensure it stays on track and progresses towards its next milestones.Source, read Oct. 3, 2026

Roadmap

Roadmap for Nouveau Monde Graphite’s Matawinie Mine13 d4 moNamed strategic project underCritical Minerals ProductionAllianceOct. 31, 2025Referred to Major ProjectsOfficeNov. 13, 2025$459 million CIB/EDC loanagreement executedMarch 17, 2026time not statedtime not statedFederal graphite offtake termsheetMarch 26, 2026Final investment decisiondate not statedConstruction startedMay 19, 2026
  • Done
  • Current step
  1. Named strategic project under Critical Minerals Production AllianceDone

    Oct. 31, 2025

    On October 31, 2025, the project was announced as a strategic project under the Critical Minerals Production Alliance.Source, read Oct. 3, 2026
  2. Referred to Major Projects OfficeDone

    13 days after the previous step.

    Nov. 13, 2025

    On November 13, 2025, the project was referred to the Major Projects Office (MPO).Source, read Oct. 3, 2026
  3. $459 million CIB/EDC loan agreement executedDone

    4 months after the previous step.

    March 17, 2026

    On March 17, 2026, the Canada Infrastructure Bank and Export Development Canada executed an agreement with Nouveau Monde Graphite for a $459 million loan to support the next phase of the Matawinie Mine.Source, read Oct. 3, 2026
  4. Federal graphite offtake term sheetDone

    9 days after the previous step.

    March 26, 2026

    On March 26, 2026, Nouveau Monde Graphite announced an updated binding long-form term sheet with the Government of Canada setting out the principal commercial terms for the supply, storage and resale of graphite concentrate from the Company’s Phase‑2 Matawinie Mine.Source, read Oct. 3, 2026
  5. Final investment decisionDone

    Time from the previous step is not stated.

    Date not stated

    This has helped the company reach a final investment decision less than six months after the project was referred to MPO.Source, read Oct. 3, 2026
  6. Construction startedCurrent step

    Time from the previous step is not stated.

    May 19, 2026

    On May 19, 2026, the Government of Canada and Nouveau Monde Graphite announced that construction has started.Source, read Oct. 3, 2026

Funding

  • $459 million Loan
  • $113 million Funding
  • $4.4 million Funding

No over-budget estimate. These are the commitments the official pages state. None is an original budget set beside a later cost for the same work.

LoanOn March 17, 2026, the Canada Infrastructure Bank and Export Development Canada executed an agreement with Nouveau Monde Graphite for a $459 million loan to support the next phase of the Matawinie Mine.Source, read Oct. 3, 2026
FundingThis builds on a $113 million strategic commitment from the Canada Growth Fund (CGF)Source, read Oct. 3, 2026
FundingCanada’s new government will provide $4.4 million through Natural Resources Canada’s Energy Innovation Program to deploy an electric-powered Caterpillar 950GC loader at the mineSource, read Oct. 3, 2026

Laws named in the sources

No law is named on the official pages read for this project.

Bills

No bill in the database names this project, or an act it is listed or considered under.

The framework law for the major projects list is below. It does not name this project.

Sources