Parliament AIIndependent · non-official
All major projects

Major project · Nunavut

Grays Bay Road and Port

Also called GBRP, Grays Bay Road and Port Project

Proponent: West Kitikmeot Resources Corporation (Kitikmeot Inuit Association and private investors).

Major Projects Office page
Photo: Major Projects Office

Photo: Major Projects Office

Why it is listed

Federal funding. Federal funding stated: funding

Through the First and Last Mile Fund, planning and preconstruction work for the West Kitikmeot Resources Corporation’s Grays Bay Road and Port project has been conditionally approved for up to $50 million.Source, read Oct. 3, 2026
ProponentThe Grays Bay Road and Port will be delivered through West Kitikmeot Resources Corporation, a partnership between the Kitikmeot Inuit Association and private investors.Source, read Oct. 3, 2026

Status

the project is currently undergoing an assessment by the Board pursuant to the Nunavut Planning and Project Assessment ActSource, read Oct. 3, 2026

Roadmap

Roadmap for Grays Bay Road and Port11 d2 moImpact Statement submitted toNunavut Impact Review BoardMarch 1, 2026Referred to Major ProjectsOfficeMarch 12, 2026Up to $50 million conditionallyapproved (First and Last MileFund)May 20, 2026−1 motime not statedProcess toward Building CanadaAct listing initiatedJune 24, 2026Listing consultations beginJune 2026Governor in Council listingdecisionnot estimated
  • Done
  • Current step
  • Not yet reached
  1. Impact Statement submitted to Nunavut Impact Review BoardCurrent step

    March 1, 2026

    On March 1, 2026, West Kitikmeot Resources Corp. submitted the Impact Statement for the Grays Bay Road and Port Project to the Nunavut Impact Review BoardSource, read Oct. 3, 2026
  2. Referred to Major Projects OfficeDone

    11 days after the previous step.

    March 12, 2026

    On March 12, 2026, the project was referred to the Major Projects Office (MPO).Source, read Oct. 3, 2026
  3. Up to $50 million conditionally approved (First and Last Mile Fund)Done

    2 months after the previous step.

    May 20, 2026

    On May 20, 2026, the Government of Canada announced up to $50 million through the First and Last Mile Fund for planning and preconstruction work.Source, read Oct. 3, 2026
  4. Process toward Building Canada Act listing initiatedDone

    35 days after the previous step.

    June 24, 2026

    On June 24, 2026, the Government of Canada announced the initiation of the process towards potential listing of the GBRP as a project of national interest under the Building Canada Act (BCA).Source, read Oct. 3, 2026
  5. Listing consultations beginDone

    about 1 month earlier than the previous step.

    June 2026

    In June 2026, MPO began consultations with Indigenous communities, the territorial government, and with federal permitting departments, as a part of the process towards assessing the potential listing of GBRPSource, read Oct. 3, 2026
  6. Governor in Council listing decisionNot yet reached

    Time from the previous step is not stated.

    Date not stated. Not estimated: fewer than five projects date both this step and the previous one.

    with the intent for the Minister of One Canadian Economy to make a recommendation for Governor in Council decision by the end of the year.Source, read Oct. 3, 2026

Funding

  • $50 million Funding

No over-budget estimate. These are the commitments the official pages state. None is an original budget set beside a later cost for the same work.

FundingThrough the First and Last Mile Fund, planning and preconstruction work for the West Kitikmeot Resources Corporation’s Grays Bay Road and Port project has been conditionally approved for up to $50 million.Source, read Oct. 3, 2026

Laws named in the sources

Building Canada Act

This project is being considered for listing under the Building Canada ActSource, read Oct. 3, 2026

The project is listed or considered under this act. Bills that name it are linked below.

Nunavut Planning and Project Assessment Act

the project is currently undergoing an assessment by the Board pursuant to the Nunavut Planning and Project Assessment ActSource, read Oct. 3, 2026

Bills

Sources